Can you find love with someone physically different from you?

By Jennifer Rodino
Features Editor

A high heel can tell you a lot about a person. Not only is a pair of high heels a fashion statement, but it also has personality and class.

Photo by Christina Cernik

For me, in addition to completing my outfit, a pair of heels has one word attached to it: height.

Being 5 feet 3 inches tall, I find a pair of stilettos instantly grants me the height that I lack ,which is important when dating my 6 feet 4 inches tall boyfriend.

When my heels are on, I am finally able to give my calves a break, saying goodbye to tippy toes and hello to the assistance of sheer fashion in meeting my boyfriend face-to- face.

Without the help of my shoes, we seem like quite an usual couple.

When most people say they are falling in love, they really are falling in pattern. Webmd.com explains that relationships are about getting our own needs met, often on an unconscious level.

We try to find someone who is complementary to us and who can help us learn, heal and grow.

When people look for a significant other, it is only out of habit that certain standards are set. In order to accept someone, people search for that person who meets their needs.

We all figure that since we are so comfortable with ourselves, finding someone with similar traits will make us happy.

According to MSNBC, a new study found when it comes to personality, people seek partners with their same qualities, but despite the personality correlations, the new study has found that 85.7 percent of participants claim to want someone who has their opposite traits.

Look around; there are a surprisingly great number of couples who, even though they are complete opposites, click together.
Everywhere we go, we see short and tall couples, fat and skinny couples, biracial couples.

There is only one clear theory to this explanation, and the famous Paula Abdul sings it perfectly: opposites attract.

He likes sports, and I like books; he likes meat, and I like veggies; he’s tall, and I’m short.

All of those traits describe my boyfriend and me. Though opposite, we seem to complement each other.

We end up getting the best of both worlds: an emotional likeness with a physical difference.

Opposites really do attract. Even though I need my infamous stilettos to give me that extra boost, we can keep that our little secret.

Leave a comment

Filed under Opinion

Leave a Reply

