Beacon News: H1N1 vaccines arrive on campus

By Jennifer Rodino
News Editor

On Tuesday, the Palm Beach Atlantic University Department of Health and Wellness offered students, faculty and staff the chance to either make an appointment or walk in to receive the H1N1 vaccine or the standard flu vaccine. People could also receive both vaccines.

The Health and Wellness center received 200 doses of the H1N1 vaccine, and suggested that students with a healthy immune system receive the nasal mist vaccine.
Ilene Wallmueller, PBA’s Nurse Practitioner, explained that the nasal mist is only a small dose, which may cause your nose to run.

“My mom told me that I should get both vaccines because since I have started field experience for my major and I am around kids all day, it is best that I make sure I am healthy,” said junior Maria Sumner, an elementary education major.

PBA Junior Kevin Keeling receives a dose of the nasal mist vaccine for the H1N1 virus.

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Leave a Reply

