Beacon Opinion: Are you letting your voice be heard?

By Luther Hollis
Opinion Editor

I believe people don’t voice their beliefs enough. I’m not talking about just the beliefs on morality or ethical issues; our beliefs go far beyond that.

This I believe

After being instructed to review a couple of articles on the National Public Radio Web site section of “This I Believe,” it occurred to me that many Americans become driven to voice their beliefs on the obvious (politics, celebrities, etc.). I do the same right here on this very page from time to time.

Nonetheless, there are those moments when the hoopla of daily news stories needs to take a backseat and allow the emotion of personal daily life to come forth.

Those little memories and personal journeys that guide our beliefs need to stand up and pitch their light upon someone’s darkness.

While “This I Believe” is no longer hosted by NPR, the ThisIBelieve.org Web site continues its work.

Here is the exact description of “This I Believe” from the ThisIBelieve.org web site:
“This I Believe is an international project engaging people in writing and sharing essays describing the core values that guide their daily lives. Over 60,000 of these essays, written by people from all walks of life, are archived here on our website, heard on public radio, chronicled through our books and television programming, and featured in weekly podcasts. The project is based on the popular 1950s radio series of the same name hosted by Edward R. Murrow.”

Some of the essays provide a humorous quip, others invoke a deep level of sympathy and some may open tear ducts.

So many different beliefs

There are so many subjects that we as humans can come together and identify with one another if we take the time to do so.

When I read through some of the essays, I found the subjects and issues to be beautifully simple. The things we take for granted are the very things that our neighbors experience as life changing.

Here are some of the beliefs I came across: “I believe in hip-hop;” “I believe in strange blessings;” “I believe baking is the best way for me to express love for my people in the present and honor the people of my past, all in one batch;” “I believe that education has the power to transform a person’s life;” “I believe in upholding reverence for all life.”

A young woman wrote that last one for a college assignment and her essay speaks about taking care of our environment. Two days after turning in the assignment, she was abducted and murdered; Michelle’s Earth Foundation was subsequently started in memory of her.

So you see, there is an importance to expressing our beliefs whatever they may be. It could be our legacy.

Let your belief be heard

Many feel that what they believe is just that – personal.

It’s our collective personal experiences that may encourage or console that one person we may never know; we may be able to change thousands of lives by releasing our personal experiences into the world. In fact, we may even save lives by the simple act of gently and respectfully expressing what we believe.

Leave a comment

Filed under Opinion

Leave a Reply

