Beacon Opinion: A call to remember and obey

By Samone Davis
Contributing Writer

Deuteronomy 8: 1-2
 “Be careful to obey all the commands I am giving you today. Then you will live and multiply, and you will enter and occupy the land the Lord swore to give your ancestors. Remember how the Lord your God led you through the wilderness for these forty years, humbling you and testing you to prove your character, and to find out whether or not you would obey his commands.”

Not as easy as it seems

Since I returned to school this semester, I caught myself having an “ego”; I was being too confident in myself about my grades, and because I’ve always gotten good grades I felt like I never had to worry. In the past, I have always received good grades and I figured this semester would be another easy one. Yes, I was wrong indeed.

I always looked at people that didn’t do well in school and wondered, “How could you get bad grades when school is so easy!”

For a recent exam, I prepared as I normally do, by studying, but not as much as I should have. I thought it was going to be easy and I felt that there was no point in me studying so hard.

I took my exam and didn’t think twice about it afterward. After I got my exam results back, I was extremely shocked by the low grade I received. This was a call saying that I needed to learn to humble myself unto God.

God giveth and God taketh away

I used this story as an example to show how easily God gives, but at the same time he can easily take it away. That is why we should always remember that we must humble ourselves and not be so comfortable in feeling that we are independent. Nor should we think we are better than someone else.

Everyone needs to be humbled sometimes because we forget that we are far from independent and we should depend on God for everything.

We should not judge because we will be judged. We are all equal and God will use us in not only what we do, but in whom we touch and the way we humble ourselves.

It is not wise to be boisterous and conceited; it is wrong to brag and tease because blessings will come to those who are humble and God tests our character by humbling us unto him. Realize that our strength is in the Lord.

Remember that the Lord gives, and the Lord takes away.

Leave a comment

Filed under Opinion

Leave a Reply

