Beacon Opinion: Do you need to let go of the wheel?

By Samone Davis
Contributing Writer

Jeremiah’s Prayer:
“I know, O Lord, that a man’s life is not his own; it is not for him to direct his steps. Correct me, Lord, but only with justice — not in your anger, lest you reduce me to nothing. Pour out your wrath on the nations that do not acknowledge you, on the peoples who do not call on your name. For they have devoured him completely and destroyed his homeland.” (Jeremiah 10: 23-25)

The trenches of the battlefield

This summer I had many encounters with my faith. I battled in situations where I didn’t have enough faith or I didn’t trust in the works of God enough to take care of the things I was going through.

I know a lot of people may have been or still are dealing with something similar, so I decided to write about it and share some insight with Palm Beach Atlantic University.

This summer may have been the fight of my life, and the biggest fight that I have ever won. The reason I think we fight with our faith is because we are weak; we aren’t strong enough to just believe and trust that Jesus is our driver.

Instead we want to take the wheel and be in control of ourselves, which causes us to encounter many accidents and wrong turns.

Why do we become weak?

The world has its way of consuming our minds, causing us to think in a manner that is worldly instead of the godly way we seek.

Even though we are only human, we should resist the thoughts of the world by working diligently to make our godly ways stronger and more apparent in our lives.

I know it’s the beginning of the semester and everything can seem so overwhelming, but throughout this time just put your trust, hope and faith in God. Take all of your problems and concerns to Him and just leave them there.

We don’t control our own destiny (even though sometimes we may be deceived into believing otherwise). Even the simplest things that may seem in our control are in fact God’s doing and will.

Reach out for help

Don’t be afraid to call on God for anything, because He’s there whenever you call and for whatever you need, no matter the situation, time or place. He wants you to be able to come to Him and He wants to be the first one to whom you come.

Just like everyone else, I know it is extremely hard to keep faith when it seems all hope is gone, but that’s when the test comes and shows the results of your strength.

Jesus never gave up on us, so why is it fair that we give up on him?

Exactly … it is not fair.

“I can all things through Christ who strengthens me.” (Philippians 4:13)

It does not say, “Man strengthens you,” and it doesn’t say, “You strengthen yourselves.” It says Christ strengthens you, and only He has the power to do so.
We should be living in honor of His mercy, grace and blessings He put upon us, and not try to control our own lives (or anyone else’s).

That’s the biggest battle that I believe most of the world needs to conquer: the ability to just let go and let God deal with everything.

I’m not saying that you should just sit down and think, “Well I don’t have to do any work today because God is going to do it all for me,” or, “I don’t feel like studying for my test tomorrow, but God will make me get an A even if I don’t study!”

No, it does not work that way. You do have to still put in the effort. But when you put in the effort on your end, you can be sure that God will do the same on His.

I believe that with all of the trials I faced this summer, perhaps this is what He intended I learn all along.

In all things you do, learn to have faith in God and let Him be the reason you’re doing it.

If you trust that He is in charge, He won’t lead you wrong. He works miracles if you believe.

Leave a comment

Filed under Opinion

Leave a Reply

